January 11, 2011

  • There Can Only Be One!

    I think that’s the only thing I remember from the movie Highlander.  Recently a co-worker was wearing a T-shirt that he received as a Christmas gift.  Being the geeks we are we all think the shirt was hilarious and yet not.  Off the bat I could recognize most of them (who’s ever heard of skyOS?)

    However, the shirt did make me remember how at my in-laws church someone had one of the original “COEXIST” bumper stickers on their car.   I’m sure there are plenty that believe that all religions should really just coexist.  But those of Christian faiths?  Really? Sure there are some that think we should because we are called to be “loving” and “accepting.”  But are we called to accept the beliefs that counter our own?  I believe there’s a difference between “accepting” and “respecting” other beliefs.  Semantics maybe but I can respect what someone else does even though I don’t accept their belief. 

    If we believe that Christ is our Savior and yet another religion only see’s Christ as a “good” man what does that say about Christ overall?  We must hold firm in what we truly believe in and therefore it would seem that religions can’t coexist.  So yeah, I was somewhat surprised to see that bumper sticker at my in-laws church.  But then again knowing the church I wasn’t really.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *