Month: January 2011

  • I Still Crave Beef …

    Even after watching Fast Food Nation I had a hunkering for a hamburger.  Both Chewy and I thought it was supposed to be a documentary but it really wasn’t.  Sure it talks about the endless cycle of food, people and life but I wouldn’t really call it a documentary.  Oh well.  One more movie down.  A few more to go…

  • There Can Only Be One!

    I think that’s the only thing I remember from the movie Highlander.  Recently a co-worker was wearing a T-shirt that he received as a Christmas gift.  Being the geeks we are we all think the shirt was hilarious and yet not.  Off the bat I could recognize most of them (who’s ever heard of skyOS?)

    However, the shirt did make me remember how at my in-laws church someone had one of the original “COEXIST” bumper stickers on their car.   I’m sure there are plenty that believe that all religions should really just coexist.  But those of Christian faiths?  Really? Sure there are some that think we should because we are called to be “loving” and “accepting.”  But are we called to accept the beliefs that counter our own?  I believe there’s a difference between “accepting” and “respecting” other beliefs.  Semantics maybe but I can respect what someone else does even though I don’t accept their belief. 

    If we believe that Christ is our Savior and yet another religion only see’s Christ as a “good” man what does that say about Christ overall?  We must hold firm in what we truly believe in and therefore it would seem that religions can’t coexist.  So yeah, I was somewhat surprised to see that bumper sticker at my in-laws church.  But then again knowing the church I wasn’t really.

  • SNOW!

    Between a short period of time (7am to 9am) we apparently got an inch of snow.  I was still asleep and missed the actual falling of snow.  I’ve always found falling snow to have a certain peace of mind affect.  That is until I start figuring out if I actually have to travel through it and what those ramifications are.  Snow is a tricky beast that’s best enjoyed while you have nothing to do or no where to travel to.  I can still remember all the “almost” accidents that I’ve had while traveling while it was snowing. 

    Over the past few weeks there seemed to be a few interesting sports tidbits that are worth noting that I didn’t have time to mention.

    Yesterday, the WSJ had a couple of articles on Chinese parents.  A ton of my friends have been posting about them.  All I gotta say is that all my repressed memories are coming back … (article 1 and article 2)